Currently reading

IMG_5413Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam–a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion–a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant.
“There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . .”
Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.

Recently read

IMG_5416 (1)  IMG_5415  IMG_5414 uncommontype IMG_4797 a lot 801 IMG_3449 Untitled-1 IMG_3438 quiet_200x200 IMG_2882 IMG_2697 IMG_2687 elleetlui wewereliars Cu13LcVWYAA34Wz IMG_7233 vienabdayvarna-558 (2) IMG_8527 IMG_8547 IMG_8536 IMG_8571 loverosie mebeforeyou



A Year in Books

Happy New Year, fellow book nerds and stray literati! May it bring you subtle meanings, clever turns of phrase and a rainbow of exhilarating character arcs! One of my favourite things to do on the 1st of January (after strolling around a silent hangover-battling city and listening to the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra New Year’s Concert …

About Me

Status: writer, blogger, designer, reader, connoisseur of sorts
Here to: talk books, talk writing, start a book club

I read, write, design and obsess over movies and TV shows.

I am passionate about stories, because they are about people – about the way people interact with each other, with the world, with what they do and do not comprehend. People matter and voices matter.

Above all I value authenticity and self-expression. I am moved when I see basic instincts crushed by compassion and fake sophistication crushed by true nature.

The length of my to-read list is a growing frustration and my reading speed is laughable. I got a soft spot for good historical fiction and zero tolerance for poor writing.

I love to talk books –  not sure my friends like me much for it, but they are being tolerant. I get a lot of tolerant discussions on books and book-related stuff, but what I need is less tolerant and more passionate.

In other words, pleased to welcome you in my online reading space!

For starters, this is what Pretty Doesome is about – a lifestyle with books, words and storytelling at its core.